Perfecting Not Being Perfect

Do you wish you didn’t love chocolate, or pizza, or bread, or some other “bad” bit of deliciousness? Unfortunately most of us don’t have a genie granting us three wishes, so we have to figure out how to live with these sinful indulgences. Last night had me in serious need of contrition today- I had a couple of pints and polished off the most delicious plate of fish and chips I’ve had at The Queen’s Arms. And then we had dessert… It was Kelley’s last night in town, so we had to properly send her off!

IMG_3542

That was a joke back there, about feeling bad for drinking beer and eating almost all of the amazing tarragon batter on my fish. It’s taken awhile, years really, but I’ve finally perfected not being perfect at eating. While I used to feel guilty or weak for indulging, now I simply recognize it, move past it and figure out how to make up for it later. Skipping meals or spending hours at the gym is a totally outlandish idea to me, but here’s what isn’t…

Breakfast: A warmed muffin from this weekend’s bake off topped with a heaping scoop of plain, non fat greek yogurt, a spoonful of almond butter, and a drizzle of raw honey. Mashed up this mix to look like a toddler’s bowl of mush and enjoyed every bite.

Lunch: Double egg and cheese pita, half an avocado sprinkled with S&P, and the leftover apple sauce from my muffin mix.IMG_3549Dinner: West African Peanut Soup. I couldn’t believe the ingredient list was so simple. Dying for the hubs to get home so I can get this simmering! Serving it up with leftover brown rice along with roasted broccoli and zucchini drizzled with a whisked sauce of simply 3 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp tahini, 1 tbsp water (my favorite new thing).

Snacks: almonds, these filling bites of goodness, a couple of dried figs, some tea, lemon pepper dark chocolate from Belgium…

Penance so easily served!

Leave a Reply

