Two steps forward, one step back

Picadilly line --> Heathrow terminal 5

Picadilly line –> Heathrow terminal 5

A very real sense of living here washed over me yesterday, and it felt great. I took the tube out to the airport to check to make sure everything was properly set up for our business meetings next week, and I didn’t miss a beat. Topping up my Oyster card was easy, I added the right amount, and I didn’t get turned around once on my trip.

On my way home, I stopped into the grocery store that’s right outside the tube station. Rather than being a “Little Watirose” (kind of like a mini mart but with real and fresh food) like the one down the street, this one was the real deal. Those “ahhhhhh” heavenly sounds started playing in my head as soon as the doors opened. I slowly browsed through the entire store, marveling at how it had everything from dish soap to canned diced tomatoes. It is a relief to know that I won’t be eating premade sandwiches and salads everyday for the next three years after all!

Isles, and options and grocery carts, oh my!

Isles, and options and grocery carts, oh my!

Mark and I checked out a restaurant recommended by our land lady last night called Brinkley’s. It was right up our alley with a wine bar and a great menu. After a delicious deep fried brie starter, king prawn salad for me and dressed up chicken dish for Mark, as well as some white and dark chocolate mousse, we headed across the street to Honky Tonk. Admittedly, it had an American flare, but was full of Brits. The cocktails were out of this world!

Someone we know will certainly make it on this wall before we leave

Someone we know will certainly make it on this wall before we leave

At home, we tried to catch up with our favorite little guy Gavin in San Francisco to no avail. We’re still two weeks out from getting real internet (it takes like three weeks to make an appointment!), so the call just wasn’t going through. Poor little guy was so excited to talk to his best bud, Mark. We miss our great friends so much, and fun nights like these make us wish they were here. Soon enough, we’ll be fully wired and able to call the moon with the internet that we ordered!

We miss this face!

We miss this face!

Leave a Reply

